You’re right, President Obama: we should not tolerate anyone bullying Bradley Manning either

Today President Obama and the First Lady headlined a White House conference on bullying, where President Obama said that torment and intimidation must not be
tolerated. Check out the news report on this conference at http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/42005402/ns/politics-white_house/
which ends with:  “The first lady, who introduced the president, also urged adults to set an example by treating others with compassion and respect and giving each other the benefit of the doubt.  “It sends a message to our kids about how they treat others,” she said.”

I agree with President Obama, and I have a question for him: Should this not apply to Bradley Manning as well? We should not tolerate his torment and intimidation either,
right? And Michelle Obama is also right – we should be treating people,
including Bradley Manning, with compassion and respect.

Bradley Manning is the private accused of leaking a huge number of documents to WikiLeaks. Follow news about Manning at http://www.evri.com/person/bradley-manning-0x50955c.

I have no position on Bradley Manning’s guilt or innocence. But Bradley Manning
deserves better than the treatment he’s been getting as he awaits trial: 7+ months of essentially solitary confinement, and more recently being made to sleep naked every night. Read about the statement made by (on behalf of) Manning at  http://blogs.forbes.com/andygreenberg/2011/03/10/alleged-wikileaker-bradley-manning-what-have-i-done-to-deserve-this/?partner=contextstory and read Manning’s statement at https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&pid=explorer&chrome=true&srcid=0B_zC44SBaZPoMzMyNWExZmUtZjEzMS00ZjM2LWE3OWMtM2I4NzY5NDNkMmFh&hl=en&authkey=CMKgiogG

Here’s an excerpt from Manning’s statement: “…the decision to strip me of my clothing every night for an indefinite period of time is clearly punitive in nature. There is no
mental health justification for the decision. I am under 24 hour surveillance,
with guards never being more than a few feet away from my cell. I am permitted
to have my underwear and clothing during the day, with no apparent concern that
I will harm myself during this time period. The determination to strip me of
all my clothing every night since 2 March 2011 is without justification and
therefore constitutes unlawful pretrial punishment….”

How can we in the US tolerate this? Is this not bullying of a different kind

We must practice what we preach – else we have no moral ground to preach.

#manning #obama #Wikileaks #bullying

About Chandra

Interested in people, language, ideas, technology and their interactions.
This entry was posted in People Matter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.