Hana Alemu graveside memorial, Oct 29, 2013

On Tuesday October 29th, K and I went to to the sentencing of Hana Alemu’s adoptive parents Larry and Carri Williams. I will have a post soon on the sentencing. After the sentencing,  there was a memorial at Hana’s grave in Sedro-Woolley, organized by members from Seattle’s Ethiopian community, many of whom attended the long trial. Candles were lit. A poem was read. And  a touching song was sung.

Thinking about what Hana went through in her young life, especially in her last days, has brought me to tears many times. As Judge Susan Cook recounted on Tuesday (in her sentencing statement)  what Hana had experienced in the Williams house, I came close to tears. But what made me break up that day was the absolute love in the song that these women sang, a love I wish Hana could have felt.

Here are some pictures I took at the memorial. Click on a thumbnail to see a larger version, and/or view the gallery.

Rest in Peace, Hana.

About Chandra

Interested in people, language, ideas, technology and their interactions.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Making a difference, People Matter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hana Alemu graveside memorial, Oct 29, 2013

  1. Pingback: The Williams Trial: Day 30 – The Sentence | Why Not Train A Child?

Comments are closed.